03/13/2019 – Defying China’s call, ex-CM Shanta attends Uprising Day function

Posted on Mar 13, 2019

source: https://www.tribuneindia.com/news/himachal/defying-china-s-call-ex-cm-shanta-attends-uprising-day-function/742193.html

Defying China’s call, ex-CM Shanta attends Uprising Day function
Shanta Kumar, BJP MP from Kangra

Lalit Mohan

Tribune News Service

Dharamsala, March 12

BJP MP from Kangra Shanta Kumar has said the Chinese Ambassador asked him not to attend the Tibetan Uprising Day function.Talking to The Tribune today, Shanta said, “I received an official communication from the Chinese Ambassador to India, asking me not to attend the commemorative ceremony of Tibetan National Uprising Day in Dharamsala.”

The letter said, “Doing so will threaten the national sovereignty of People’s Republic of China.” In response, he said, “China is a powerful country while I am a simple man who belongs to this tiny state. However, neither China, nor any other global power will decide where I shall or shall not go,” Shanta said.In a symbolic display of support and solidarity with the Tibetan people, an array of MPs from India, the EU, Germany, Canada, Slovakia, Italy, Peru and Taiwan gathered at the courtyard of Tsuglagkhang to participate in the 60th anniversary of Tibetan National Uprising.

The leaders pledged to champion the cause of the Tibetan in Tibet and declared the renewed support for the political leadership led by the Central Tibetan Administration and its earnest efforts to resume dialogue with the Chinese government based on the middle way approach.

They expressed admiration for the Dalai Lama and said China would only benefit in embracing the Dalai Lama’s vision for Tibet and the world.

The other foreign MPs included Thomas Mann, MEP, President of Tibet Interest Group (TIG), Michael Brand, Member of German Bundestag, Antonella Incerti, MP, Democratic Party, Italy, Lucia Duris Nicholsonova, Deputy Chairman of the Slovak National Council, Garnett Genuis, MP, Conservative Party of Canada, vice-chairman of Parliamentary Friends of Tibet, Albeto de Belaunde, MP, Liberal Party, Peru, Mei Nu Yu, MP, Taiwan, Santosh Vinita Kalyan (Sandy Kalyan), MP, Democratic Alliance, South Africa, Yang Jianli, the President of Citizen Power Initiatives for China.